Local Authority Heritage Officers

Local Authority Heritage Officers

Local Authority Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting heritage awareness, developing policy and providing advice and information on local as well as national heritage issues.

Local Authority Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting heritage awareness, developing policy and providing advice and information on local as well as national heritage issues.

County Heritage Officers are employed by Local Authorities in partnership with the Heritage Council under the auspices of the Heritage Officer Programme, which was initiated in 1999. The programme celebrated 20 years in 2019.

Heritage Officers manage the heritage function within a county in a strategic and co-ordinated manner. They adopted an integrated approach to heritage which envelopes all aspects of heritage within the overall heritage service. They aim to promote enhanced levels of understanding, conservation and preservation by improving the status and perception of heritage in their local area. Heritage objectives are identified and priorities in Local Heritage Plans that are formally adopted by Local Authorities.

The Heritage Officer function is extremely broad and carried out in the context of individual local authority preferences. Some of the principal areas addressed by Heritage Officers include

  • Local Heritage Plans
  • Advice and Information for Local Authority Staff
  • Heritage Appraisal
  • Data Collection
  • Liaison
  • Public Relations
  • Public Consultation
  • Strategies, Policies and Projects


  • County Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting awareness, knowledge and pride in local heritage.
  • They provide advice, guidance and information on various aspects of Irish heritage and heritage best practice.
  • As part of their work, officers collect data and undertake research on various aspects of the local heritage.
  • They play a key role in developing policies and priorities for the identification, protection, conservation and enhancement of Ireland’s heritage.
  • They support the integration and inclusion of heritage policy across all sectors, officers also prepare and implement actions of their county’s Heritage and Biodiversity Plans.

2020 County Heritage Plan Projects

Each year The Heritage Council provides grant assistance to Local Authorities for projects which support the implementation of their County Heritage Plans. Here is the list of projects being undertaken this year. Previous years can be found here

Training and Development

The Heritage Council provides technical, developmental, professional and training support, in addition to financial subsidisation, in respect of all Heritage Officers appointed to Local Authorities. (Year One: 75% / Year Two: 50% /Year Three+: 25%.) The non-financial support is primarily delivered through the Heritage Officer Training and Development Programme. The Heritage Council endeavors to maintain the standard and quality of the Heritage Training and Development Programme at all times. Direct training has been provided in relation to County Heritage Plans, Heritage Appraisal, Conservation Plans, Facilitation and Planning Legislation.

Further Information

Follow the link to the Heritage section of your local authority where you will find the most up-to-date information on publications, resources and events relating to heritage in your county.

Local Authority Heritage Officer Telephone Email
Cavan County Council Anne Marie Ward 049 437 8614 amcurley@cavancoco.ie
Cork City Council Niamh Twomey 021 492 4018 niamh_twomey@corkcity.ie
Cork County Council Conor Nelligan 021 428 5905 conor.nelligan@corkcoco.ie
Clare County Council Congella McGuire 065 684 6408 / 682 1616 cmcguire@clarecoco.ie
Dublin City Council Charles Duggan 01 222 2856 / 222 3090 charles.duggan@dublincity.ie
Donegal County Council Dr. Joe Gallagher 074 917 2576 j.gallagher@donegalcoco.ie
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council Deirdre Black tbc dblack@dlrcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Christine Baker 01-890 5691 christine.baker@fingal.ie
Galway City Council Dr. Jim Higgins 091 526 574 jim.higgins@galwaycity.ie
Galway County Council Marie Mannion 091 509 000 Ext. 198 / 509 198 mmannion@galwaycoco.ie
Kerry County Council Victoria McCarthy VMcCarthy@kerrycoco.ie
Kildare County Council Bridget Loughlin 045 980 791 / 980 200 bloughlin@kildarecoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Dearbhala Ledwidge 056 779 4925 dearbhala.ledwidge@kilkennycoco.ie / https://www.facebook.com/kilkenny.heritage/
Laois County Council Catherine Casey 057 866 4129 ccasey@laoiscoco.ie
Leitrim County Council Sarah Malone 071 9620005 smalone@leitrimcoco.ie
Limerick County Council Tom O'Neill 061 407229 heritage@limerick.ie
Longford County Council Mairead Ní Chonghaile 043 334 0731 / 334 1124 mnichonghaile@longfordcoco.ie
Louth County Council Brendan McSherry 042 9392969 / 086 601 3839 brendan.mcsherry@louthcoco.ie
Mayo County Council Deirdre Cunningham 094 904 7684 dcunningham@mayococo.ie
Meath County Council Dr. Loreto Guinan 046 909 7507 / 909 7000 lguinan@meathcoco.ie
Monaghan County Council Shirley Clerkin 047 73722 heritage@monaghancoco.ie shclerkin@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly County Council Amanda Pedlow 057 934 6839 / 934 6800 heritage@offalycoco.ie
Roscommon County Council Nollaig Feeney 090 663 7100 / 663 7135 nfeeney@roscommoncoco.ie
Sligo County Council Siobhán Ryan 071 911 4482 / 9111 111 heritage@sligococo.ie
South County Dublin County Council Dr. Rosaleen Dwyer 01 414 9222 / 414 9000 rdwyer@sdublincoco.ie
Tipperary County Council Roisin O'Grady 0761 06 6213 roisin.ogrady@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford County Council Bernadette Guest 051 849 668 / 058 20839 bguest@waterfordcoco.ie
Westmeath County Council Melanie McQuade 044 9332098 Melanie.mcquade@westmeathcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Deirdre Burns 0404 20100 / 20191 dburns@wicklowcoco.ie

Explore More

Wicklow Uplands Council

Wicklow Uplands Council

Wicklow Uplands Council (WUC) is an independent voluntary organisation representing over 50 diverse member groups and individuals with interests in the Wicklow and Dublin Uplands.