National Heritage Week Hare

Local Authority Biodiversity Officer Programme

Local Authority Biodiversity Officers work at city and county level collecting data on biodiversity, carrying out conservation projects, developing policy, providing advice and information and raising awareness.

Local Authority Biodiversity Officers work at city and county level collecting data on biodiversity, carrying out conservation projects, developing policy, providing advice and information and raising awareness.

City and County Biodiversity Officers are being employed by Local Authorities in collaboration with the Heritage Council and supported by the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.

Biodiversity officers work closely with heritage officers and other professionals within the local authority, as well as with the wider community in each city and county. Their role is diverse and will be defined by individual local authority preferences, but with a core focus on strategic planning and collaboration.

Their responsibilities include:

  • Creation of Local Biodiversity Forum
  • Writing Local Biodiversity Plan
  • Research, surveys and data collection
  • Providing advice on biodiversity for local authority staff
  • Community engagement and raising awareness
  • Development of strategies, policies, and projects relating to wildlife, habitats and biodiversity
  • Provision of biodiversity expertise to groups such as the Heritage Forum, Climate Action Team.

The breadth of these responsibilities highlight the pivotal role that biodiversity officers play in promoting awareness, knowledge and appreciation of local biodiversity through their work.

Heritage Council Guidelines for Local Biodiversity Action Plans

The Heritage Council has published Guidelines for Local Biodiversity Action Plans (LBAPs) as a resource for Local Authorities in developing and implementing their biodiversity strategies. These guidelines provide a robust framework for creating comprehensive, effective, and sustainable action plans that integrate biodiversity considerations across all local authority functions.

The Heritage Council Guidelines cover essential aspects such as stakeholder engagement, biodiversity auditing, setting objectives, and monitoring progress. By following these guidelines, Local Authorities can ensure that their action plans are thorough, well-informed, and aligned with best practice in biodiversity conservation.”

Training and Development

In addition to financial support, the Heritage Council provide technical, developmental, professional, and training support for biodiversity officers appointed to local authorities. This will be delivered through the Biodiversity Officer Training and Development Programme. Training will be provided in relation to County Biodiversity Plans, habitat and species survey and research, consultation and environmental legislation.

Local Authority Biodiversity Officer Contact Details

Local Authority Name Email Address Phone
Carlow County Council Shane Casey scasey@carlowcoco.ie 059 9136250
Clare County Council Barry O'Loughlin boloughlin@clarecoco.ie 065 6846232
* Cork City Council (Parks) Rosemarie McDonald rosemarie_mcdonald@corkcity.ie 021 4924000
Cork City Council (Planning) Usna Keating usna_keating@corkcity.ie 021 4924000
Donegal County Council Julie Corry juliecorry@donegalcoco.ie 087 3430534
*Dublin City Council Lorraine Bull lorraine.bull@dublincity.ie 01 222 3325/ 087 627 9025
* Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council Anne Murray Martina O'Brien annemurray@dlrcoco.ie mobrien@dlrcoco.ie 01 205 4700
* Fingal County Council Hans Visser Hans.Visser@fingal.ie (01) 890 5000
Galway City Council Paula Kearney paula.kearney@galwaycity.ie 091 536400
Galway County Council Rosina Joyce rjoyce@galwaycoco.ie 091 509000
Kerry County Council Eleanor Turner eleanor.turner@kerrycoco.ie 066-7183848
Kildare County Council Meabh Boylan mboylan@kildarecoco.ie 045 980761
Kilkenny County Council Bernadette Moloney bernadette.moloney@kilkennycoco.ie 056 7794487
Leitrim County Council Rebeccah Cogan rcogan@leitrimcoco.ie (071) 9620005
Limerick City and County Council Sinead McDonnell sinead.mcdonnell@limerick.ie 061 557108
Longford County Council Adam Mulvihill amulvihill@longfordcoco.ie 043 334 33 00
Louth County Council Helen Hanratty helen.hanratty@louthcoco.ie
Meath County Council Ben Malone bmalone@meathcoco.ie 046-9097000
Monaghan County Council Patricia McCreesh patricia.mccreesh@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly County Council Ricky Whelan rwhelan@offalycoco.ie 057 8664000
Sligo County Council Ruth Hanniffy rhanniffy@sligococo.ie 071 911 4480
Tipperary County Council Ann Marie Fleming annmarie.fleming@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford City and County Council Marina Mulligan mmulligan@waterfordcouncil.ie
Westmeath County Council Christina Sweeney Christina.Sweeney@westmeathcoco.ie 044-9332000
Wexford County Council Claire Goodwin claire.goodwin@wexfordcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Hannah O’Kelly hokelly@wicklowcoco.ie

* Position funded entirely by the relevant City or County Council

Biodiversity Officer Job Postings

Biodiversity Officer vacancies are advertised in the jobs section of our website

In the News

View the press releases for the Biodiversity Officer Programme below

Minister Malcolm Noonan announces six new Biodiversity Officers (June 2022) 
Approval for ten new biodiversity officers to bolster local action for nature (Oct 2022)
Approval for 11 biodiversity officers to bring the national total to 25 (Feb 2023) 
Biodiversity Officer appointments signal beginning of new era for protection of wildlife at local level (April 2023)

Explore more

View From Mt Leinster L Scott 2

Irish Uplands Forum

The Irish Uplands Forum (IUF) is a voluntary body established in 1995, to assist upland communities to face the many economic, social and environmental challenges arising in the upland districts of Ireland.

Irish Uplands Forum
Burrenbeo Image 002

Burrenbeo Trust

Burrenbeo Trust is landscape charity dedicated to connecting all of us to our places and our role in caring for them.

Burrenbeo Trust
Wetlands Slide 5

Puffin Rock Habitats

Puffin Rock Habitats is an educational project between The Heritage Council and Cartoon Saloon to promote greater awareness and understanding of Ireland's nature and biodiversity amongst families with young children, through a touring exhibition, workshops and activity book.

Puffin Rock Habitats