Waterford Museum of Treasures | Maoin Phort Lairge
Closed: Christmas Day, St Stephen’s Day, New Year’s Day
Open 7 days/week, 362 days/year
Waterford Museum of Treasures at the Bishop’s Palace houses one of three new museum displays opened in 2011/12 showcasing the 1000 year+ story of Waterford, Ireland’s oldest city, through superb historic and archaeological collections.
The Reginald’s Tower exhibition covers Waterford’s Viking beginnings in 850 up to the Norman invasion. The medieval museum in the Choristers’ Hall – which incorporates two medieval buildings – will cover Waterford’s rich medieval heritage with the 4m-long Great Charter Roll dating from 1372 viewed by Queen Elizabeth II during her historic visit to Ireland in 2011 and the 15th century cloth-of-gold vestments - Ireland’s finest late medieval treasures - as centerpieces.
The Bishop’s Palace, built in 1743 to the design of Richard Cassels tells the story from 1700 to 1970, the first floor laid out as a historic house, the second floor a more traditional museum display. A multimedia multi-language handheld guide will be available from summer 2012 which will operate both inside and outside the museums.
Waterford Museum of Treasures is a multi-award-winning museum operating since 1999.