County Heritage Officers

County Heritage Officers

County Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting heritage awareness, developing policy and providing advice and information on local as well as national heritage issues.
County Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting heritage awareness, developing policy and providing advice and information on local as well as national heritage issues.

Overview

The County Heritage Officers Network comprises 28 County Heritage Officers who are based in the offices of local authorities.

Benefits

  • County Heritage Officers play a key role in promoting awareness, knowledge and pride in local heritage. 
  • They provide advice, guidance and information on various aspects of Irish heritage and heritage best practice.
  • As part of their work, officers collect data and undertake research on various aspects of the local heritage.
  • They play a key role in developing policies and priorities for the identification, protection, conservation and enhancement of Ireland’s heritage.
  • They support the integration and inclusion of heritage policy across all sectors, officers also prepare and implement actions of their county’s Heritage and Biodiversity Plans.

Further Information

Follow the link to the Heritage section of your local authority where you will find the most up-to-date information on publications, resources and events relating to heritage in your county. Find your local authority

Local Authority Heritage Officer Telephone Email
Cavan County Council Anne Marie Ward 049 437 8614 amcurley@cavancoco.ie
Cork City Council Niamh Twomey 021 492 4018 niamh_twomey@corkcity.ie
Cork County Council Conor Nelligan 021 428 5905 conor.nelligan@corkcoco.ie
Clare County Council Congella McGuire 065 684 6408 / 682 1616 cmcguire@clarecoco.ie
Dublin City Council Charles Duggan 01 222 2856 / 222 3090 charles.duggan@dublincity.ie
Donegal County Council Dr. Joe Gallagher 074 917 2576 j.gallagher@donegalcoco.ie
Fingal County Council Dr. Gerry Clabby 01 890 5697/ 890 5000 Gerry.clabby@fingal.ie
Galway City Council Jim Higgins 091 526 574 jim.higgins@galwaycity.ie
Galway County Council Marie Mannion 091 509 000 Ext. 198 / 509 198 mmannion@galwaycoco.ie
Kerry County Council T.J. Mahony 087 6540276 / 066 7183500 Ext. 3370 tjomahony@kerrycoco.ie / heritage@Kerrycoco.ie
Kildare County Council Bridget Loughlin 045 980 791 / 980 200 bloughlin@kildarecoco.ie
Kilkenny County Council Dearbhala Ledwidge 056 779 4925 dearbhala.ledwidge@kilkennycoco.ie / https://www.facebook.com/kilkenny.heritage/
Laois County Council Catherine Casey 057 866 4129 ccasey@laoiscoco.ie
Limerick County Council Tom O'Neill 061 407229 thomas.oneill@limerick.ie
Longford County Council Mairead Ní Chonghaile 043 334 0731 / 334 1124 mnichonghaile@longfordcoco.ie
Louth County Council Brendan McSherry 042 932 4109/ 086 601 3839 brendan.mcsherry@louthcoco.ie
Mayo County Council Deirdre Cunningham 094 904 7684 dcunningham@mayococo.ie
Meath County Council Dr. Loreto Guinan 046 909 7507 / 909 7000 lguinan@meathcoco.ie
Monaghan County Council Shirley Clerkin 047 73722 shclerkin@monaghancoco.ie
Offaly County Council Amanda Pedlow 057 934 6839 / 934 6800 heritage@offalycoco.ie
Roscommon County Council Nollaig Feeney 090 663 7100 / 663 7135 nfeeney@roscommoncoco.ie
Sligo County Council Siobhán Ryan 071 911 4482 / 9111 111 heritage@sligococo.ie
South County Dublin County Council Dr. Rosaleen Dwyer 01 414 9222 / 414 9000 rdwyer@sdublincoco.ie
Tipperary County Council Roisin O'Grady 0761 06 5173 roisin.ogrady@tipperarycoco.ie
Waterford County Council Bernadette Guest 051 849 668 / 058 20839 bguest@waterfordcoco.ie
Westmeath County Council Melanie McQuade 044 9332098 Melanie.mcquade@westmeathcoco.ie
Wicklow County Council Deirdre Burns 0404 20100 / 20191 dburns@wicklowcoco.ie

Explore More

Woodlands of Ireland

Woodlands of Ireland

Woodlands of Ireland is an inclusive, membership organisation dedicated to native woodlands.